Tags

Newsletter: 15/1/6: Write Group meeting tomorrow at 7 pm

Hi everyone,

I hope you all had a great Christmas and New Year’s Eve and, as we start out, that you will have a prosperous, happy and healthy 2015.

The year is starting out quickly, with a cold snap and our first Write Group meeting in 2015. Fortunately, we seem to be getting comfortable weather tomorrow, so I look forward to greeting you in the Council Chamber of the Tofield Town Office (same building as the library) at 7:00 pm.

I recently organized the some prompts we have used in the Write Group and curated over the years, and uploaded these to our blog. This is something I promised to do so I am thrilled to announce that the uploads are well underway. Presently, Situation and Perspective Prompts are uploaded, joining the previously uploaded Fortune Cookie and Tic-tac-write Prompts. Today I am processing Word Prompts. There are other prompts I hope to upload as well.

That leaves the events, markets, newsletter and competition content to work on. I’m dreading the competition one as it is the most volatile material, running out of date almost instantly. In the meantime, I will continue to keep you up to date with these newsletter e-mails.

So, how is your writing coming along? We all have busy schedules and I am not a fan of breaking resolutions, but I was reminded yesterday that even a sentence a day is progress. So this year that is my resolution: at least one sentence a day toward one of my long stories and fun with words and writing beyond that.

Remember also that we have an active Write Group contest designed to get us participating and interacting. I would love to see a parade of creative Write Group letterhead logos submitted so we can show off and celebrate our creativity. The logos can be simple. They don’t need a backstory, though usually a backstory, answering what it means, comes naturally after a logo is created. Show off your pride as a writer. Fire up and display your imagination through scribbling and doodling. Like freewriting or quickwrites, scribbling and doodling can inspire further creativity. So, take five minutes and play with drawing.

See you tomorrow night.

Keep drawing and writing,
Shawn

