Tags

Newsletter: 13/5/26: Last meeting June 5, contests with a twist and more prompts

Hi everyone,

What about that Conference?

So, did anyone get to the Words in 3 Dimensions conference? I did not as I thought I was visiting my nephew this weekend. If you went, please attend our June meeting and highlight some of your experiences and insights. We would be pleased to hear from you. (If you rather, you could e-mail me your reflections and I will forward your e-mail to everyone else.)

June 5 Meeting (Last Until September)

This leaves one official event for our group until September: our last meeting. This will be on June 5 from 7 pm to 9 pm in the Council Chamber of the Tofield Town Office (same building as the Tofield Library). This is a Bring Your Own Snack meeting. So bring something yummy to eat and drink.

If anyone would like to do anything special for this meeting, let me know. We’ll definitely schedule it in. (Yeah, as if we have a schedule.)

Tweets This Week

Twitter is often considered a social fluff with little substance and little worth, but it all depends on how you use it. I have two Twitter accounts: one professional, with which I interact and network with teachers around the World and we learn from each other how to be better teachers, and one as the Write Group, with which I interact and network with writers, agents, editors, publishers and readers across the Globe to find the best resources and connections for our Group. Here are three conversations and tweets I engaged in this week.

@TheWriteGroup: Ha ha ha. RT @AndyHolloman: “I’m writing a book. I’ve finished the page numbers.”

@AshiLabouisse: I hate #writing. I love having written. ~Dorothy Parker #quotes HAVE WRITTEN.
@TheWriteGroup: Funny, I like the journey of #amwriting.
@AshiLabouisse: @TheWriteGroup Me too! It’s the journey of #amediting that I want to choke with my bare hands. #damnediting
@TheWriteGroup: @AshiLabouisse Ha ha ha ha. In this case, I #amediting one of my member’s novels, so not so bad.

@TheWriteGroup: RT @Massim0Marin0: #OnWriting Language can get in the way of the story’s feelings. Often the first that comes to mind is the right one. Don’t search for words.
@Massim0Marin0: @TheWriteGroup Thanks guys for sharing my words with your followers.
@TheWriteGroup: @Massim0Marin0 You’re welcome. We should write from our hearts and imaginations before we revise from our brains. #amwriting #amediting
@Massim0Marin0: @TheWriteGroup with our remote recess in heart and mind. “Bad books are about things the writer already knew before he wrote them” C.Fuentes

I like the quote about bad books being about things the writer already knows. It flies in the face of the traditional wisdom that the writer should write what he knows. What do you think? Is the quote true?

I leave you with a couple of tweets on the subject:

@wordsmithwoman: The advice to write what you know is wrong. Write about what moves you. Write about what interests you. #writingmyths

@WriterlyTweets: The aim of literature … is the creation of a strange object covered with fur which breaks your heart. — Donald Barthelme

and this article about the difference between good writing and talented writing.

Writing Competitions

They are never-ending, which is good. I added a new one to our Wiki Competitions page. Note: there is still an active poetry competition (SL) open until May 31. There are several competitions in June, and I have a few listed that deadline in July and September. In addition, refer to our Diigo Competitions page for more contests.

Amongst these competitions are two interesting ones. The prizes are not publication and money, but rather help with your writing and craft. Check out the Industry Insider Television Writing Contest (deadline: June 15) and the 1st Annual In Shadows Writing Competition (deadline: July 1) on our Competitions page on our Wiki. I am still waiting for a reply on the In Shadows competition; there are offering prizes for manuscripts longer than the length of manuscripts they are accepting. I suspect a typo on their contest page.

Share a Story

May is National Share-a-story Month. Write a story or find a story, and share it with someone close to you. (Hey, we have a Write Group meeting coming up in ten days! Just saying, if you need incentive.)

Self-publishing

Some of you (DG) may be considering self-publishing. There are pros, cons and a lot of debate about self-publishing and traditional publishing. Either way, it sounds like the more involved you get, the more likely you will be successful. Much research is needed, but I thought you might be interested in this offer from Writer’s Digest and Nook Press. I don’t necessarily endorse Nook Press (I am not informed enough to make an endorsement), but I thought you might be interested in the information.

Writing Prompts

I would like to offer a poem prompt to you before I jump in to Figment’s weekly collection. You can find more poem prompts in our Diigo. And, of course, our Diigo Prompt page includes these and other prompts. Robert Bewer asks you to write a late poem — one in which something or someone is late. Think of the directions you can take this poem. What are the significance and implications of being late this time? Is late even an active verb here, or is it perhaps a condition, a state of being, an object of time? What is (a) late?

With that prompt to whet your palette, Figment offers the following fare this week. The opening line mirrors a common conundrum amongst writers, poets and story tellers: where should I begin? This is a ripe opening line fertile with potential. The photo prompt offers a Winter scene, but how does the prompt change as you look at only the tree, or just the skier? Sometimes, the best ideas are really pieces of bigger ones that block us. Wow, a synecdochic prompt! In like vein, the May 23 prompt asks you to write three fictionalized mirrors of yourself: one who is perfect and powerful, one who is you at your worst and the last who is as close to you as you can get it, then compare the characters. This would probably work best if you place these mirrors in the same scene. How does this translate to your development of your characters? Then, as the May 21 prompt asks, write a description or scene in which one of your characters encounters someone with something your character wants. The prompt asks how the someone differs from your character, and what he or she wants. But also, how do your character and this someone interact? How does your character feel? Finally, the May 22 prompt asks you to develop a scene that lives up to (or opposite to) its name. Often we forget that scenes have character too. Have fun.

That is it from me. I hope you each have a great week. Until June 5, keep writing, and please come, share your stories and bring some food for yourself for this last meeting,
Shawn

Att: May 20-24, 2013 Figments

