Tags

Newsletter: 13/2/5: Meeting Tomorrow, Writing Contests and Figment Prompts

Hi everyone,

I have to apologize for missing this letter on Saturday. I am taking three university courses and simply got sidetracked.

We have our next Write Group meeting tomorrow at 7:00 pm in the Tofield Town Office (same building as the Tofield library). Unfortunately, like this letter, I forgot to do any writing this month, and likely will have the same problem next month. My contributions will be rather sparse.

I have received DG’s book, Sapling, which I am skimming through now and then before I start editing it.

With that in mind, I have a few more contests that were delivered to my Inbox to offer you.

  • Binghamton University John Gardner Fiction Book Award is offered annually for a novel or collection of fiction published in the previous year. Top prize is $1,000 and announcement in Poets & Writers. Deadline: March 1.
  • Anthem Essay Contest is offered annually to encourage analytic thinking and excellence in writing and to expose students to the philosophic ideas of Ayn Rand. Top prize is $2,000, but there are more than 200 other cash prizes as well. Deadline: March 20.
  • Four Way Books Poetry Prizes are offered for the best previously unpublished book-length collection of poetry. Top prize is $1,000 and publication. Deadline: March 31.

Finally, Figment has offered more writing and craft-building prompts. Since I missed Saturday’s letter, I have included yesterday’s and today’s prompts as well. Sorry for the lack of introduction. I need to make this letter quick, so have not had time to look at the prompts yet.

Thank you for making the Write Group so exciting.

Keep writing,
Shawn

Att: Jan 28 — Feb 1, 2013 Figments
Att: Feb 2-5, 2013 Figments

