The 16th Annual Writer’s Digest Short Short Story Competition for best short story of 1500 words or less has a $3000 (US) prize (and more). No categories are listed. Standard Fee: $25. Standard Deadline: December 14.

The DIAGRAM Essay Contest offers $1000 (US) and publication in DIAGRAM for a nonfiction experimental or formal essay of up to 10,000 words. Entry Fee: $17. Deadline: December 15.

The Magic Oxygen Publishing Literary Competition offers £1,000 and a tree planted in Kenya in the winner’s name (GPS coordinates) for original unpublished short stories up to 4000 words or original unpublished poetry up to 50 lines. Entry Fee: £5 per entry. Deadline: December 31.

The Red Tuque Books 2015 Canadian Tales of the Heart Short Story Writing Contest offers prizes up to $500 (CAN) plus publication, a copy of Canadian Tales of the Heart and recognition on the Red Tuque website for a Canadian story between 1500 and 5000 words and of any genre that elicits strong emotion. Entry Fee: $15 for one manuscript, $25 for two and $30 for three (max). Deadline: Post-dated December 31.

The 9th Biennial Vancouver Theatre in the Raw One-Act Play Contest is looking for the best, new, fresh and never before performed or published One-Act plays, particularly on themes of cultural and social diversity. The submissions must be presented in proper stage-play format and be no more than 25 double-spaced typed and numbered pages equal to 30 minutes of acting, with no more than 6 characters. First prize is $200 (CAN) and at least one dramatic reading or staging of the play at a Theatre In the Raw cafe/venue or as part of a mini-tour program for the One-Act Play Series Nights. Other prizes are given to other winners. Entry Fee: $25 for one play, $45 for two, $70 for three, $90 for four. Deadline: Post-dated December 31.

Latest update: 2015